Turning UFOs into FOs

17 Dec

Quilt front  Ribbon starThis was a rare weekend for us of not having too much planned (particularly rare considering how close to Christmas we are!).  So I made as much use of my time as I could working through my small stack of UFO (unfinished objects) projects.

During Quilt Camp the previous weekend, I had completed the Quilt backpoinsettia star pillow for Layla.  My stepmom asked me when she was going to get a pillow, so I thought I should try to get one done for her for Christmas.  I had created a Ribbon Star block over the summer, as part of the Solstice Star Series, and I had intended to make a pillow out of it for a bench in our hallway.  However, time being what it is I never completed that project.  I loved the colors though, and thought it would be a nice compliment to the colors in my dad’s house.  So I added some sashing, an envelop closure back, and some binding, and ta-da!

I have also had that diamond baby quilt nearly finished since the summer.  I had loads of friends due to have babies this year, and I had grand intentions of making each of them a baby quilt.  Most of them did not find out ahead of time what they were having, but I figured if I just starting making girl quilt then boy quilt then girl quilt, etc, that I should be covered for a while.  About the time I was almost done with this one, the boys started coming (and I also wasn’t keeping up with my goal of presenting each baby with a quilt all that well).  We have had a good friend have a baby girl in the last week or two, so I finally pulled this out and got the binding on, so it’s ready to be shipped off soon… just as soon as I can get a better picture of it!  ****(Update – got a better picture with the help of my daughter, Layla, as well as one of the back – try not to be too distracted by those adorable eyes 😉 )****

I also got my mother-in-law’s quilt sandwich done.  Now to just quilt and bind that, and then I can start something new!  Layla knows I really want to make her a quilt, as she should be migrating to a big girl bed one of these days.  When I was working on the quilt sandwich she kept asking me if that was her quilt, bless her.

One Response to “Turning UFOs into FOs”

  1. Faith December 21, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    You’re on fire! The pillow turned out great. 🙂

Leave a comment