Quilt Camp

12 Dec

pillowI went to “Quilt Camp” last weekend up in Michigan.  It was my first sewing retreat, and it was a blast!  Brenda at Pink Castle Fabrics organized the event, and there were classes from Faith at freshlemons.com, Jeni at incolororder.com, Heather from OliveandOllie.com, and Brenda.  There was also loads of free sewing time.  I really felt like I got loads accomplished.  I have never had such large chunks of time to focus on projects, and it felt so strange to start and complete a project in such a compressed timeframe.  I made the pillow shown here for my 2 1/2 year old daughter, Layla, using Faith’s paper piecing (poinsetta star).  I always feel a little guilt that Layla doesn’t have very many handmade things from me but her brother does.  I’ve been waiting until she got old enough to know what she is interested in so I could make things she would like, and she is starting to get to that age now.  The pillow has a lot of fussy cutting of Heather Ross prints from Spoonflower – mostly mermaids.  Layla loves “princesses” which she thinks these are. 🙂  I am happy to report that she LOVES her pillow.  She sleeps with it, even though it’s a bit big for her and by the time I check on her at night her head is never on it anymore. 

I couldn’t resist making something for Hayden, too.  I couldn’t walk in the door with something for her and not for him, could I!  So I made Jeni’s bag with some Laurie Wisbrun fabric which will be out soon.  (It’s great having a wonderful friend like Faith who shares fabric so generously!)  He was really excited to receive it, even though he hasn’t really mentioned it or even touched it since I gave it to him. 😉  I’m thinking it will be a good home to some Legos someday.

I also made great progress on a quilt I have been working on for my mother-in-law from the Beauty is You line.  This is my first time doing flying geese (using this method), and I love how it turned out.  Sorry I haven’t got a photo of it yet (you can check instagram though, at karagoodwin).

So, really a great weekend at Quilt Camp!  There are rumored to be more in the works, so I hope to be able to do it again.

 

3 Responses to “Quilt Camp”

  1. Faith December 12, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    I had so much fun with you last weekend! Too funny that Hayden hasn’t used his bag. Come on man! I’m glad Layla loves her pillow. 🙂

  2. Mandy December 18, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    The pillow is so beautiful! Amazing job! So glad to have found your blog at it’s beginning! I will be reading along.

    • karagoodwin December 18, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

      That is very kind, thank you!

Leave a Reply

