A Sewing and Running Blog

12 Dec

Hello, and welcome to my first – and hopefully not last – post on my new blog!  In addition to my primary joy – raising my two wonderful kids (follow me doing this on http://haydengoodwin.wordpress.com or http://laylagoodwin.wordpress.com) – I have a couple of other hobbies which I thought it could be fun to chronicle in a blog, sewing and running.  I also work, so I have my doubts about my ability to keep this up to date, but I guess I won’t know unless I try.  I find it difficult to find time for my two hobbies as it is, much less to write about them, but it’s fun to pretend my time and talents are limitless so let’s give this a whirl.

I started sewing a little over 3 years ago.  I learned to sew originally in home ec in middle school and loved it then, but didn’t pick it up again until I was inspired by my friend Faith at http://www.freshlemonsquilts.com.  I mostly do modern quilting, but also enjoy smaller projects such as pillows or occasionally garments.

I’ve been running for a little over a year.  I honestly really used to hate running and couldn’t understand why anyone would choose to do it, but I had a few friends who enjoyed it and I started asking them why.  I decided to give it a try, and with my handy Nike+ app on my iPhone I was able to see my improvements.  It also felt great to feel (not just see on my phone) how I could go farther and faster.  I remember in the beginning feeling like I just had to stop because I needed to catch my breath, as well as feeling extremely thirsty.  As my body got conditioned I could run longer without stopping, and I never really get thirsty anymore on my runs.

So that’s just a little level-setting to get started.  My plan from this point forward is to separate the running and sewing into their own posts, as in life the two topics don’t really intersect very often apart from the fact that they are enjoyed by this one individual.  🙂

One Response to “A Sewing and Running Blog”

  1. Faith December 12, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    Yay! I’m so glad you are doing a blog! Can’t wait to see your projects. And maybe you will talk me into running. So I can spend more money without guilt at Lulu.

Leave a Reply

